Hold on! Don’t be in a hurry to answer that question yet. Stay put!

Think over it. As you do, follow me!

In recent months, as if it was on purpose, I saw a lot of persons asking me what I wanted to do and I’d find it so hard to answer, some of them I’m sure are even reading this now. I’d rummage over my mind for answers but I’d only come up with a stuttering reply when it’s not as if I’m a stutterer. It was either that or “plenty blabbering.”

I mean this should be easy right? I know what I want to do but why was I finding it hard to express it all of a sudden.

Every single time this would happen, I’d get one answer of why do I want to do everything?

That would only make me more confused.

I’m sure I had to even change my facebook bio a couple of times. It was almost like I was unsure of myself.

Trust me, you don’t want to have that feeling.

But for some weeks, I’d have time to withdraw and really ask myself these questions. I had sleepless nights, talked to myself, even cried. I know, this should not be a big deal right?

But you see, it is.

Knowing what you “really” want to do saves you from plenty stress. This is simply because you are not pressured to want to do everything, you’re not pressured to do every activity. It does the simple function of helping you do less while being very productive both financially and in making an impact.

If you don’t know what you want to do. You’ll LOSE YOUR FOCUS. Because everything is very attractive and very appealing. You are not serving any niche.

You have to be known for something. It should resonate with your values and the core of who you are.

If you don’t know what you want to do, you’ll keep on trying your hands at different things. While this may not be bad in itself, it’s dangerous because you’re simply wasting time and energy. It makes you more intentional.

Now you see, it’s not just in knowing what you want to do, it’s in being contented with it.

Contentment will keep you in check and in place. It’s the extra pudding. It makes sure you don’t “waka waka” around what you want to do because you want to “show yourself”. This will help you grow in that what you want to do.
You’ll be satisfied with yourself in that place that you’ve chosen to be an expert and not wishing to be another person.

It’s like saying you want to be a Doctor. What kind of doctor do you want to be? An Optician, Dentist, Paediatrician, Gynaecologist, Surgeon?

Or you want to be a coach. What age group do you want to coach? Youth, teen, children, old men, singles, divorcees, married people, business owners?

You want to be a designer? Do you want to make only shoes and bags, plus size clothing’s,
Children wear, office wears, old people, bridal clothing.

I remember Serena Francis giving me an assignment to pick a niche I wanted to serve in the fashion industry. It was hard and didn’t want to until she gave me examples of so many great people even here in Nigeria that selected a niche and are growing in it and how you can be easily remembered if you’re focusing on just one thing.

I know a lady who makes and sells only plus size shoes only. When I asked her for my shoes, she told me she did not face my size. Even when I asked her to get a shoe to sell for me, she refused.

So what about you, do you know what you want to do?

Yes? No?

If you don’t, no stress, no hurry. Take your time, think, pray, get a book near you. If you’re still confused, call someone you can talk to and ask questions, somebody that have sense oh πŸ˜‚. You’ll find it and you’ll know it because you’ll find peace in that certain decision.

You cannot do everything and be everywhere. You were meant to be part of the body and not the whole body.

Have I found what I want to do? Yes!

And you see that picture there, it clearly reminds me of what I want to do and be known for.

It’s the picture of me wearing an outfit that was made for me by one of my teachers during my fashion design training. And I was going for cook out December, an event organized by the Phenomenal teen coach Teajay Chunu to provide food and clothing to children and teens in a particular community every December.

Have a productive weekend,
#BeStellar.